People

Personnel Directory

Welcome to the personnel directory for the Climate Impacts Group.

Mailing address

Climate Impacts Group
University of Washington
Box 355674
Seattle, WA 98195-5674

Director and Deputy Director

Name Areas of Expertise Affiliation(s)
Snover, Amy
Director, Climate Impacts Group
Assistant Dean for Applied Research, College of the Environment
Affiliate Associate Professor, School of Marine & Environmental Affairs
(206) 221-0222
aksnover@uw.edu
View Bio | View CV
Climate Adaptation and Decision Making
Climate Impacts
Vulnerability Assessment
Stakeholder Engagement
Climate Impacts Group
UW College of the Environment
School of Marine & Environmental Affairs
Casola, Joe
Deputy Director, Climate Impacts Group
(206) 616-5347
jcasola@uw.edu
View Bio | View CV
Climate Adaptation and Decision Making
Climate Dynamics
Vulnerability Assessment
Climate Impacts Group
UW College of the Environment

Administrative Staff

Name Areas of Expertise Affiliation(s)
Karpov, Adrienne
Administrator
(206) 616-5350
karpov@uw.edu
Climate Impacts Group
UW College of the Environment
Fisk, Julie
Assistant to the Director
(206) 616-4304
juliedf@uw.edu
Climate Impacts Group
UW College of the Environment
Moreland, Jenifer
Grants and Contracts Manager
(206) 616-5348
morelj@uw.edu
Climate Impacts Group
UW College of the Environment

CIG Research Scientists and Technical Staff

Name Areas of Expertise Affiliation(s)
Krosby, Meade
Research Scientist
(206) 579-8023
mkrosby@uw.edu
View Bio
Vulnerability Assessment
Adaptation Planning
Conservation Biology
Climate Impacts Group
UW Dept. of Biology
Lee, Se-Yeun
Research Scientist
(206) 543-6720
leesy@uw.edu
View Bio
Hydrologic Modeling
Water Resources Systems
Ecosystems
Climate Impacts Group
Mauger, Guillaume
Research Scientist
(206) 685-0317
gmauger@uw.edu
View Bio
Climate Dynamics
Climate Modeling
Hydrologic Modeling
Climate Impacts Group
Morgan, Harriet
Researcher
(206) 543-6720
hmorg@uw.edu
Terrestrial Ecosystems Climate Impacts Group
Norheim, Robert
GIS Analyst
(206) 616-6865
norheim@uw.edu
View Bio
Integrated Assessment Climate Impacts Group
Fire and Mountain Ecology Lab
UW School of Environmental and Forest Sciences
Salathé, Eric
Research Scientist
Associate Professor (UW Bothell)
Adjunct Professor (UW Seattle)
UW Director Northwest Climate Science Center
(206) 616-5351
salathe@uw.edu
View Bio
Climate Dynamics
Dynamical Downscaling
Climate Impacts Group
UW Bothell STEM School
UW Dept. of Atmospheric Sciences
NW Climate Science Center
Shirk, Andrew
Research Scientist
shirk@uw.edu
View Bio
Biodiversity
Ecosystem Restoration
Climate Impacts Group
Whitely Binder, Lara
Senior Strategist
(206) 616-5349
lwb123@uw.edu
View Bio
Adaptation Planning
Stakeholder Engagement
Facilitation
Climate Impacts Group

CIG Affiliates

Name Areas of Expertise Affiliation(s)
Bostrom, Ann
Professor
(206) 685-8198
abostrom@uw.edu
View Bio
Environmental Risk Assessment
Risk Management
Public Policy
UW Evans School of Public Policy and Governance
Cullen, Alison
Professor
(206) 616-1654
alison@uw.edu
View Bio
Environmental Risk Assessment
Risk Management
Public Policy
UW Evans School of Public Policy and Governance
Ebi, Kristie
Professor
(206) 543-8440
krisebi@uw.edu
View Bio
Public Health Department of Global Health Department of Environmental Occupational Health Sciences
Essington, Tim
Associate Professor
(206) 616-3698
essing@uw.edu
View Bio
Aquatic Ecosystems UW School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences
Evans, Laura
Associate Professor
(206) 543-4900
evansle@u.washington.edu
View Bio
Public Policy
Tribal Governance
UW Evans School of Public Policy and Governance
Fenske, Richard
Professor
(206) 543-0916
rfenske@uw.edu
View Bio
Air Quality
Public Health
Children’s Health
UW School of Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences
Freitag, Bob
Senior Instructor and Director of the UW’s Institute for Hazards Mitigation Planning and Research (IHMP)
Director of the UW’s Master of Infrastructure Planning and Management (MIPM) Floodplain Track(206) 818-1175
bcfreitag@outlook.com
View Bio
Hazards Mitigation and Floodplain Management UW College of Built Environments
Frumkin, Howard
Dean, School of Public Health
Professor, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences(206) 543-1144
frumkin@uw.edu
View Bio
Climate Change and Health Energy Policy and Health
Built Environment and Health
UW School of Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences
Grover, Himanshu
Assistant Professor, Urban Design and Planning(206) 685-6855
groverh@uw.edu
View Bio
Community Resilience Hazard Mitigation
Climate Change Adaptation
Hagerman, Shannon
Assistant Professor
Shannon.Hagerman@ubc.ca
View Bio
Adaptation Planning
Forests
Societal Dimensions
University of British Columbia, School of Forestry
Hamlet, Alan F.
Assistant Professor
(574) 631-7409
alan.hamlet.1@nd.edu
View Bio
Hydrologic Modeling
Climate Change
Water Resources and Adaption
Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences, University of Notre Dame
Hamman, Joe
Postdoctoral Researcher
jhamman@ucar.edu
Climate Dynamics
Hydrologic Modeling
Climate Change
Research Applications Laboratory, Hydrometeorological Applications Program, National Center for Atmospheric Research
Istanbulluoglu, Erkan
Associate Professor
(206) 543-7923
erkani@u.washington.edu
View Bio
Hydrology
Geomorphology
UW Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Lawler, Josh
Associate Professor
(206) 685-4367
jlawler@uw.edu
View Bio
Conservation Biology
Landscape Ecology
UW School of Environmental and Forest Sciences
Leung, Ruby
Research Scientist
(509) 372-6182
ruby.leung@pnl.gov
View Bio
Climate Dynamics Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Lundquist, Jessica
Associate Professor
(206) 685-7594
jdlund@u.washington.edu
View Bio
Hydrology UW Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Lynch, Cary
Postdoctoral Fellow
cary.lynch@pnnl.gov
Climate Dynamics Climate Modeling Joint Global Change Research Institute
Mantua, Nate
Landscape Ecology Team Leader for NOAA’s Southwest Fisheries Science Center
(831) 420-3923
nate.mantua@noaa.gov
View Bio
Aquatic Ecosystems
Climate Dynamics
NOAA Fisheries
UW School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences
McKenzie, Don
Affiliate Assistant Professor
(206) 732-7824
dmck@uw.edu
View Bio
Forests USFS, Fire and Environmental Research Applic.
UW School of Environmental and Forest Sciences
Mitchell, Todd
Research Meteorologist
(206) 685-3786
mitchell@atmos.washington.edu
View Bio
Climate Dynamics Joint Institute for the Study of the Atmosphere and Ocean (JISAO)
Neumann, Rebecca
Assistant Professor
(206) 221-2298
rbneum@uw.edu
View Bio
Hydrology
Groundwater
UW Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Peterson, Dave
Research Biologist
(206) 732-7812
peterson@fs.fed.us
View Bio
Forests USFS, Pacific Wildland Fire Sciences Lab
Saperstein, Alison
Graduate Student
alison@saperstein.com
Public Policy UW Evans School of Public Policy and Governance
Sarachik, Ed
Professor Emeritus
sarachik@uw.edu
View Bio
Climate Dynamics UW Dept. of Atmospheric Sciences
Spector, June
Assistant Professor
(206) 897-1979
spectj@uw.edu
View Bio
Public Health UW School of Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences
UW School of Medicine
Steed, Rick
Research Meteorologist
steed@uw.edu
Climate Dynamics
Climate Modeling
UW Dept. of Atmospheric Sciences
Strauch, Ronda
Graduate Student
(206) 543-7940
rstrauch@uw.edu
View Bio
Forests
Geomorphology
Transportation
UW Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Northwest Climate Science Center
Thompson, Sarah Ann
Staff Scientist and Data Manager
(707) 981-8033
sathompson@faralloninstitute.org
View Bio
Integrated Ecosystem Assessments
California Current
Farallon Institute for Advanced Ecosystem Research
Warner, Michael
Research Scientist
(206) 543-1646
mdwarner@uw.edu
Dynamical Downscaling UW Dept. of Atmospheric Sciences
Yost, Michael
Associate Chair and Professor
(206) 685-7243
airion@u.washington.edu
View Bio
Air Quality
Public Health
Exposure Assessment
UW School of Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences

 

Former CIG Researchers and Graduate Students

The following are just a few of the many former Climate Impacts Group students and research scientists whose experience with the Climate Impacts Group helped advance their careers (listed in alphabetical order):

  • Joe Casola – Climate Impacts Group Deputy Director. Former Climate Impacts Group graduate student (2008-2009)
  • Marketa McGuire Elsner – Civil Engineer at the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, Denver. Former Climate Impacts Group graduate student and Research Scientist (2007-2012)
  • Ze’ev Gedalof – Associate Professor, University of Guelph. Former Climate Impacts Group graduate student (PhD awarded in 2003)
  • Alan Hamlet – Assistant Professor, College of Engineering, University of Notre Dame. Former Climate Impacts Group graduate student and Research Scientist (1996-2012)
  • Jeremy Littell – Lead Research Scientist at the U.S. Geological Survey and the Alaska Climate Science Center. Former Climate Impacts Group graduate student and Research Scientist (2005-2011)
  • Cary Lynch – Postdoctoral Fellow at the Joint Global Change Research Institute. Former Climate Impacts Group Postdoctoral Fellow (2014-2015)
  • Nate Mantua – Landscape Ecology Team Leader for NOAA’s Southwest Fisheries Science Center. Former Climate Impacts Group Research Scientist (1995-2010) and co-Director (2010-2012)
  • Philip Mote – Director, Oregon Climate Change Research Institute Professor, College of Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences Oregon State University. Former Climate Impacts Group Research Scientist (1998-2009)
  • Alexander (Sascha) Peterson – Senior Program Officer for the American Society of Adaptation Professionals and President of Adaptation International. Former graduate student (2006-2008)
  • Crystal Raymond – Climate Research and Adaptation Strategic Advisor, Seattle City Light. Former Climate Impacts Group graduate student (2006-2010, PhD awarded in 2010)
  • Julie Vano – Postdoctoral Fellow at the Oregon Climate Change Research Institute. Former Climate Impacts Group graduate student (2007-2010, PhD awarded in 2010)

Back to Top